Wednesday, 18 May 2011

Loralai Pakistan


LoralaiUtmankhel is a district in the centre of Balochistan province of Pakistan. Loralai district was created on October, 1903. Loralai town is the district headquarters. Loralai was further partitioned in 1992 when Musakhel and Barkhan were given the status of separate administrative districts.

The present boundaries of Loralai district contain three sub-divisions namely sub-division Duki , sub-division Bori and Tehsil Makhter. Duki sub-division is further divided into Tehsil Duki and Sub-Tehsil Sinjavi. Sub-division Bori consists of tehsil Bori. Sub-tehsil Makhter become tehsil with the great accesses of Tehsil Nazim Bori [Molvi Abdullah Hamzazai].


In 1545 Duki, a dependency of the Kandahar province, was conferred upon Mir Sayyid Ali by the Mughal Emperor Humayun. The province of Kandahar continued under Mughals until the year 1559 when it passed into the hands of the Safavids Kings of Persia and remained under their control until 1595. In 1595 it was recaptured by Emperor Akbar the Great, during Akbar's reign the territory of Duki which was generally garrisoned, formed an eastern dependency of the Kandahar Province and provided a contingent of 500 horses and 1,000-foot (300 m) soldiers. In 1622 Kandahar again passed under the Safavids.
In 1653 Emperor Shah Jahan sent a large expedition under his eldest son, Dara-Shikoh, to regain Kandahar but in vain. This was the last attempt on the part of the Mughals to regain Kandahar which was now lost to them for ever. Mir Wais Ghilzai or Khilji established Ghilzai/Khilji power in Kandahar around 1709. After 30 years of supremacy the Ghilzai/Khilji power gave way to Nadir Shah who captured after a severe struggle in 1737. However in 1747 Nadir Shah was assassinated and Ahmad Shah Durrani took over the reign of Government. The Durranis were followed in about 1826 by the Barakzai under Dost Mohammad Khan. Almost the whole of Loralai District remained under this dynasty till 1879, in 1879 Duki and the Thal Chotiali country with other parts of Balochistan passed into the hands of the British.
In 1879 at the close of the first phase of Afghan war a British contingent while returning from Kandahar was opposed by a large body of tribesmen from the Zhob and Bori valley at Baghao under command of Shah Jahan (chief of Zhob). However tribal lashkar was defeated completely. In 1881 Thal Chotiali (Sibi) which included Duki was made Sub district of the Harnai political Agency. In 1881 inhabitants of Sanjavi were brought under British subjugation. In 1883 it was decided to build cantt at Duki and the Garrison of Thal Chotiali (Sibi) leaving a detachment at Gumbaz. In October 1884 a force comprising 4800 men moved in to Bori (Loralai) valley and the mission was completely successful. In the following years it was decided that a frontier road should be constructed from Dera Ghazi Khan to Pishin through Loralai. The cantt from Duki was accordingly moved forward in 1886 to Loralai and Mil posts were stationed at Sanjavi, Mekhtar and Kingri. The Head Quarter of Assistant Political Agent at Duki was also changed to Loralai. In Nov 1887 Duki and Thal Chotiali (Sibi) were declared parts of British India and for the purpose of administration, the designation of the Political Agent was changed to that of Deputy Commissioner. In 1888 Sir Robert Sandeman proceeded with a small force through Musa Khel to Southern Zhob. Ultimately this led to the occupation of the Zhob valley in 1889. Loralai town and cantt remained under the Thal Chotiali Dist until 1894 when it was made over to the Zhob Agency. Famous People:Dr. Malak Jamal Khan Hamzazai, Abdul Wahab Utmankhel عبدلوها ب اوتمانخيل) Malak Habibullah khan kudezai,عبدالرزاق اوتمانخيل جرمنی Malak Fathe Khan Utmankhel Shams Utmankhel Sardar Pasta Khan Utmankhel Sardar Ashraf Kakar, Dr. Mohamad Shah kudezai, Akhtar Shah Kudezai, Ubaidullah Babat, Malak Gulzar Khan, Muhibullah Khan London, Haji Soba Khanmusakhail, Malak Jalat Khan musakhail,haji ferooz khan musakhail ,sardar sikander hayat khan jogezai /Malak Noorullah Kudezai Shaheed, Dr.Noorullah Khan kibzai, yaqub Nasar, Gul Muhammad khan Jogezai, Saradr Asmat Ullah Musakhail, Dr. Atta Gul Hmzazai, Haji Thor Utmankhel,Saradar Abdul Latif Jogezai - Risaldar Major, Naik Mohammad Kakar,Rozina Kakar, Dost Mohammad Kakar, Mohammad jameel Zumri, Mohammad Yousaf Rind, Bashir GUl Khatak, Haji Afzal Sherani, Hayat Khan Tajak, Malik Zaheer ud Din Khan Trakai, Mr. S.M.G.Ali Shah Gillani S/o. Maj Mansoor Hussain Shah Gillani(U.A.E Armed Forces).

No comments:

Post a Comment